Connect with us

Badgers football

Paul Chryst earns sweep of Big Ten Coach of the Year honors

An undefeated season earns Badgers head coach both media and coaches pick as Coach of the Year in the Big Ten.

In a move that surprised no one at the talking10 office, Wisconsin Badgers head coach Paul Chryst was named the Big Ten’s Coach of the Year.

He swept the media and coaches awards after leading the Badgers to a historic 12-0 finish in the regular season, including the first 9-0 season in conference history as well.

Earlier this week, Chryst earned our nod as Coach of the Year as well.

It hasn’t just been a banner year for the Badgers either. Chryst has been on fire since he arrived at Wisconsin. He’s started off his career with three straight 10-win seasons and joins coaching legends Fielding Yost and Urban Meyer as the only coaches to do that in Big Ten history.

Some believed the award would go to Purdue head coach Jeff Brohm after he led his team from the bottom of the Big Ten barrel to bowl eligibility in his first season. Instead, Chryst got the nod in all three awards handed out this offseason.

Why? We discussed it all on the talking10 podcast earlier this morning (starting at 25 minute mark).

Wisconsin also saw its star running back, Jonathan Taylor, earn Big Ten Freshman of the Year honors from the Big Ten after we had given that honor to him earlier in the week as well.

Andy Coppens is the Founder and Publisher of Talking10. He's a member of the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) and has been covering college sports in some capacity since 2008. You can follow him on Twitter @AndyOnFootball


talking10 Podcast

More in Badgers football